Page 92 - AZ Extreme - AEM Volume 8 Issue 2
P. 92

  Tony Steele, Peoria, AZ (Apr 29, 2018)
John Cornell continued his dominance in the SWDRA Late Models while Jason Noll picked
off his third win in four events in the Modifieds. Both divisions held special 30-lap features to showcase the two headlining classes. Chase Alves grabbed yet another victory in the Sport Mods after tagging the field, earning himself
a $100 bonus for the win. Joe Peterson held off Joe Vlasity throughout the Hobby Stock feature event while John Priest once again headed to CSP victory lane.
John Cornell was the class of the field in the Late Models yet again, holding off a hard charging Craig Parker during the feature event. Cornell started on the pole and worked his way into a healthy lead throughout the first half of the race. A feature plagued by cautions allowed numerous opportunities for Craig Parker to take control of the race, almost doing so on two of the later restarts. In the end Parker was unable to make his way by the defending Late Model champion and would have to settle for second. Bruce Duckett finished off the podium with Rick Ortega and Jerry Fincher closing out the top five. Cornell and Duckett were heat race winners earlier in the night.
Jason Noll raced his way from sixth to an early lead, overtaking Jay Foster who started on the front row. Once
Noll found himself out front the MRT Chassis was set on cruise control to his third win in four points races at Canyon. Chaz Baca Jr and John Parmeley put
on a good show, both coming from
back in the fifth row to land on the podium, with Baca eventually working his way around Parmeley to finish in second. Foster was able to hang onto fourth while Kenny Gill charged from 12th up to 5th after a mistake cost in
his heat race cost him valuable starting positions in the feature. Noll and 6th place finishing Ryan Roath were heat race winners
Chase Alves accepted a $100 challenge to start in the rear of the field, but only able to take the money home with a trip to victory lane. As the race kicked off, David Harrington and Drew Costa went to work to earn
the lead, with both drivers eventually making mistakes that would cost them track position early. Alves methodically worked his way through the field, picking off cars one by one on his trek to the front. Speedy Madrid fought Alves to the checkered, but eventually it was Alves victorious, earning his $100 bonus and another trip to CSP Victory Lane. The points leader Madrid would finish in second with Harrington, Ty Weidner and Randy Blume rounding out the top five. Alves and Weidner took home heat race wins.
One of the best races of the night occurred with the Modlite feature as five drivers threw their hat in the ring for the feature win throughout the duration of the 20 lap event. Shane Hinsley led the way through the early portion of the race until a mechanical failure sent his car to the infield, making way for Sean Conyers. As Conyers
sped around the slowing Hinsley, Priest drove to Conyers inside challenging for the lead. Conyers and Priest would battle to the end with Steve Moriarity and Dave Lems close behind. Priest would eventually get the win ahead of Moriarity, Conyers, Brenden Priest and Lems. Moriarity and John Priest were heat race winners.
After a chaotic heat race for the Desert Restorations Hobby Stocks, only four cars would be able to make the call for the feature event. The heat race would see one car head on in the wall, a couple cars with mechanical issues that were unfixable before feature time and another car upside down. Thornton (wall) and Hakes (flip) were both deemed OK. In the feature
it was another typical Joe vs Joe battle between Peterson and Vlasity. Peterson grabbed the early lead and had a better handling car than Vlasity which would turn out to be the ultimate difference. Peterson would grab another feature win ahead of Vlasity, Bradley Stafford and Kyle Cardinal. Peterson would sweep the night as he had a heat race win earlier in the night.
For more information give us a call at (602) 258-RACE (7223) or visit us at us on Facebook and all of our social media accounts to stay updated with the latest from CSP! (Twitter: @racecsp / Instagram: @canyonspeedwaypark). v
Story by Tony Steele • Photos by PDQ Photos
IMCA Hobby Stocks
Heat 1 - (8 Laps)
1. 85-Joe Peterson[6] 2. 68V-Joe Vlasity[7] 3. 51-Kyle Cardinal[1] A-Main - (20 Laps)
1. 85-Joe Peterson[2]
2. 68V-Joe Vlasity[3]
3. 40B-Bradley Stafford[5]
IMCA Sport Mods
Heat 1 - (8 Laps)
1. 14A-Chase Alves[5]
2. 15D-David Harrington[1] 3. 8-Drew Acosta[2]
Heat 2 - (8 Laps)
1. Z28-Ty Weidner[5]
2. 34-Lyle Askren[2]
3. 00AZ-TJ Wyman[1] A-Main - (20 Laps)
1. 14A-Chase Alves[8]
2. 15-Speedy Madrid[6]
3. 15D-David Harrington[1]
Heat 1 - (8 Laps)
1. 17-Steve Moriarty[4] 2. 7-Dave Lems[3]
3. 97-Steve Bender[2] Heat 2 - (8 Laps)
1. 51-John Priest[5]
2. 213-Shane Hinsley[1] 3. 114-Sean Conyers[4]
A-Main - (20 Laps)
1. 51-John Priest[7]
2. 17-Steve Moriarty[5] 3. 114-Sean Conyers[4]
IMCA Modified
Heat 1 - (8 Laps)
1. 44N-Jason Noll[2]
2. 92P-John Parmeley[3]
3. 40SR-Jeff Stafford SR[6] Heat 2 - (8 Laps)
1. 292-Ryan Roath[1]
2. 14J-Jay Foster[3]
3. 75JR-Chaz Baca Jr[6] A-Main - (20 Laps)
1. 44N-Jason Noll[6]
2. 75JR-Chaz Baca Jr[10] 3. 92P-John Parmeley[9]
Late Models
Heat 1 - (8 Laps)
1. 28-John Cornell[2] 2. 24-Rick Ortega[3] 3. 78-Steve Stultz[6] Heat 2 - (8 Laps)
1. 22B-Bruce Duckett[5] 2. 89L-James Laing[3] 3. 19-Paul Rios[8] A-Main - (30 Laps)
1. 28-John Cornell[1]
2. 48-Craig Parker[8]
3. 22B-Bruce Duckett[4]
    92 Arizona EXTREME Motorsports

   90   91   92   93   94