Page 96 - AZ Extreme - AEM Volume 8 Issue 1
P. 96

 Round four of the 2018 Supercross season was held back in January at the University of Phoenix stadium, in Glendale, AZ. Those of you that arrived early more than likely spent your time in one of two places. Even though the tailgaters were enjoying rounds of cornhole games and cooking on the grill, the
rest of the crowd enjoyed the pit party. There they met with the riders and
got their signed posters, enjoyed the attraction from a verity of manufactures, as well as some exhibits.
Last year Eli Tomac took Phoenix
by storm in the 450SX class. This year Tomac had a rough start in Anaheim, did not make the cut in Huston, then came back to Anaheim with a first place. Here in Phoenix he was looking to win number two in both round four and back-to-back Phoenix wins. The only thing in his way were racers Jason Anderson, Ken Roczen, Justin Barcia, Marvin Musquin & Chad Reed. Tomac grabbed the holeshot and from there held the lead all the way to a victory, Barcia followed up with a second and Roczen took third.
By Spinning Wheels Photography
In the 250SX class it was anybody’s guess to who would take the title
home as all the top riders have placed in the top five in the first three races. Justin Hill was the rider that won last year’s season in the West Rider Points standings, however, Aaron Plessinger came to Phoenix leading in total points and appeared to be the favorite of the night. All he had to do was hold Shane Mcelrath, Adam Cianciarulo, Joey Savatgy, Chase Sexton and Hill behind him as he crossed the finish line twenty- plus minutes later. The battle ended as Plessinger crossed the finish line first
with Mcelrath following into second place while Cianciarulo placed third. At halftime KTM sponsored the
50SX Mini Challenge where Colton Waites grabbed the start and pulled away in his three-lap race. He seemed to know how to handle this ride just like a Pro. In a close finish Ryder Demichele came in second place and Jace Stott filled in the top three with his third place victory.
To follow more Supercross action check them out on their website, www.
               96 Arizona EXTREME Motorsports

   94   95   96   97   98